Posted by: groundsforsculpture | October 20, 2010

Interview with Eric Schultz, Artist in Residence: Part 3

This week, found-object artist Eric Schultz will be in residence creating a humanoid sculpture in his own unique, comical style repurposing and recycling items used in our everyday lives. The residence will take place through October 22 from 10 am – 4 pm.

Posted here is part 3 of a 3 part interview by Ruthann Perry, volunteer docent.  The interview took place September 7, 2010.

What’s on your ipod?
So much stuff. It’s easier to tell you what’s not. I don’t have any techno. No scat. No gospel. I have a decent amount of Classical. That I like when I’m working. Rock ‘n roll. My family is into Country. My family has bands. Country western. My grandmother is in the Country Music hall of fame. I don’t really listen to much country ‘cause I’ve heard it my whole life. I like the older country – Patsy Kline.

Favorite TV show, book?
Can I do movie? I don’t watch much TV.

Yeah.
I just got a new one in my top five. “The Inception”. It bumped two out.

Really??? I didn’t get it!
I know – half the audience walked out during it.

Yeah – you either hate it or love it I guess.
I’ll explain it to you and you’ll go “Whoa…!” I love sci-fi.
Favorite movies – hands down – “Blade Runner” and “Dune”. The attention to detail! Just looking in the background (scenery) and not seeing a hairdryer glued to the wall.
I have the director’s cut of “Blade Runner”. It’s awesome.

Did you like “Wall-E”?
Awesome. Well done and poignant. If I could make a “Wall-E” I’d be a happy man.

(Regarding junking) Pick one – the hunt or the find?
The hunt. I’m a before Christmas man. I like the waiting.

What’s the most hysterical or ridiculous trouble you’ve ever gotten in?
(Laughs.) That was a wrestling match I got into with an old man in a dumpster over a great find – a book of mason handbook. I got lots of other good stuff that day, but that was the one that got away.

Ok – and the last thing: The Bernard Pivot questions: do you know these?
No.

What is your favorite word?
Whoa. Actually I know what it is – you’re going to laugh. “Lugubrious.” From “The Little Mermaid” (laughing).

What is your least favorite word?
Um. Wow. “Nice”.

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
Living. Life as sculpture.

What turns you off?
Ignorance.

Favorite curse word?
Shit. Hands down. Works in so many situations.

What sound or noise do you love?
The wind. And rain on the roof.

What sound or noise do you hate?
Air condensers on the supermarket near my house.
Bingg!!!!! for hours on end. My dog cringes. Also, kids crying. That’s upsetting.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
I kinda would like to be an airplane pilot. Scary but cool.

What would you not like to do?
Phone sales.

If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you get to the pearly gates?
Wow (silence). That’s really hard. He’d say you can come in but no one you like is here!

Thanks, Eric.

Leave a Reply

Categories

