Posted by: groundsforsculpture | August 7, 2010

EOS

By Christopher Czar, Artist, Participant in Integrated Arts: Tapping Into the Creative Spirit exhibition

Chris Czar.Eos, 2009. Stone. Photo Courtesy the Artist

During one of our visits to the Grounds For Sculpture, we noticed the various educational programs that are available as part of the GFS experience. At the urging of my wife, I signed up for the Stone Carving workshop. I had reservations due to the distance I would have to travel from my home in Montclair to Hamilton, and the Saturday beach traffic I would encounter, but I signed up anyway.

Not knowing what to expect, I was a little nervous about attending the workshop. The instructor was excellent and presented the techniques for carving stone so they were easily understandable, but my concerns did not go away. The first task was to decide what I wanted the piece to look like. Staring at a block of stone and trying to figure out what to do with it is rather overwhelming. To help us get started, the instructor showed us numerous examples of work by various artists. There were discussions about the properties of the stone and what forms were most appropriate for it. This provided inspiration and finally I knew what I wanted to create. Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, after working for a few weeks on the piece, I decided I did not like it and began all over on a new stone. The result was EOS.
 
The name did not come first, it came much later. After the piece was completed, I had difficulty trying to determine where it should be displayed. Many places within our home were tried but just didn’t seem appropriate. Finally, I found the right spot: outside, in the garden, in full view from our kitchen window. The window faces east and when the morning sun shone on the piece, that’s when the title became apparent: “EOS, Goddess of the Dawn.”
Responses

  1. Wow Chris, very cool & wonderful! Congratulations !!

  2. I was extremely impressed with this sculpture, “Eos,” the Goddess of Dawn. At a first glance, it appeared to have a primitive, clean, yet cubistic look of the modern artists. Yet, after more viewing, the intensity of the features, especially, the eyes, reveal phenomenal intensity of a very old soul, with great wisdom of many incarnations. I found the polarity in this piece almost haunting. It is not only breathtaking, unique, but totally a gift to us from this artist’s hands. Thank you, Mr. Christopher Czar for sharing and showing this piece. R.A.S. N.Y.

  3. Wow!!
    great sculpture… impressive!!!

  4. I love it!

  5. Chris, your sculpture is amazing. Shari told us about it and then Stephen sent along the website so I could view it. It seems to me as though it is welcoming all who view it — what an appropriate name as Eos welcomes each day for us. Thank you for sharing your talent and I am sure all who visit with her have a feeling of a new day, a new beginning.


Leave a Reply

Categories

