Posted by: groundsforsculpture | August 4, 2010

Tall Tails: The Baltimore Edition

By Meredith Neubeck, Admission Staff

Dana Stewart in Patterson Park, Baltimore, MD

Dana Stewart in Patterson Park, Baltimore, MD

Several weeks ago I went down to Baltimore, Maryland to visit an old friend. She lives a few blocks northwest of Patterson Park, a large park near the Inner Harbor in between Fells Point and Canton. At about 9:00 p.m. at night, on my way to her house from New Jersey, I was driving along the south side of Patterson Park. I began to think I was hallucinating. I had just worked the whole Sunday at Grounds For Sculpture and driven straight from work to Baltimore. I could be hallucinating. Maybe it was a dog? Could it be a giraffe. No, dinosaurs. Definitely dinosaur pets. Before I crashed my car, I decided it was time for me to get to my friend’s house and get some sleep.
 
Over lunch the next day I recalled my strange sightings. Laughter erupted. I was wrong. And I should have known better. They were mythological beasts.
 
After it being pointed out to me that they were sculptures on loan to the Baltimore Sculpture Project, I vaguely recalled being told once that Dana Stewart had installed several sculptures in Baltimore. I guess I found them.
 
I am fairly convinced that Dana Stewart’s sculptures are haunting me.
  
Go to “Meet the Sculptors” on this blog for 2 videos by the artist.

Leave a Reply

Categories

