Posted by: groundsforsculpture | March 15, 2010

My Experience with Docent Training

By Claire Welsh, Docent

I am seventy years old and I was slightly scared to embark on a new adventure, however I am absolutely happy that I did.

Each day of training opened my eyes to the wonders at Grounds For Sculpture and enabled me to absorb many of the processes that the artists use to enrich this place.

The variety of teaching methods and the wonderful encounters with artists gave me a joyful learning experience.  I also learned that I can still learn.

Since taking the course, it has been a great experience to show others the work that exists here.  Several of my tour groups have added to my knowledge when they see a piece from a different perspective.

The changing nature of the exhibits keeps my learning process continuing, and every time I come to the Grounds I find a new adventure.

Note: The next Docent Training takes place in June-July 2010.  Apply now to be a volunteer by going to the GFS website, visiting the Volunteers page and downloading an application.  If interested, call Elizabeth Berkowitz at 609 586-0616 ext. 19.

Leave a Reply

Categories

